Scientific communication has moved, and moves, with intrinsic quality control systems (micromedia scientific) and extrinsic (micromedia editorial) that ensure its dissemination and consumption, thanks to the articulation of strongly standardized systems. Its historical evolution has been marked by a purpose of empirical as well as idealistic character, the transmission of results that research and reflection have been distilling over time. And all this has led to the creation of a set of functional elements that establish a highly standardized protocol framework, which has played a very important role in the process of transforming information into knowledge. The strong normative structure of the scientific publication is the result of a tradition that has been constituted over time and that is projected in all media in which knowledge is represented, from paper to electronic publishing, and is the expression of a form of communication in which efficiency, rather than rhetoric, constitutes its most accurate expression.However, scientific communication, thanks to the possibilities of the network and the digital edition, is being diversified by alternative paths, increasingly frequented by the author, when considering the formulation of his hypotheses or the presentation of his first research results . Blog, microblog, social networks, virtual communities, are emerging areas of academic intervention that escape the rigid protocols of conventional scientific publications.


  • Citation Metrics
  • Digital Curation
  • Scholarly Publishing
  • Academic Reading
  • E-reading systems: devices and applications for researching and learning
  • E-science
  • Information Metrics and User Studies
  • Main educational models with digital contents: Open Access systems and proprietary solutions
  • Social Networks Analysis

Track Scientific Committee

José-Antonio Cordón-García (University of Salamanca, Spain) – Chair

Raquel Gomez-Díaz (University of Salamanca, Spain) – Chair

Maria Manuel Borges (Universidade de Coimbra) – Chair

Carlos A. Lopes (ISPA, Lisboa, Portugal)

Luca Toschi (Universidad de Firenze, Italia)

Alexandra Anichini (Indire, Istituto Nazionale di Documentazione per l’Innovazione e la Ricerca Educativa, Italia)

Olivia Jarvio (Universidad Veracruzana, México)

Rodrigo Costas (Universidad de Leiden, Holanda)